Perspective

Often times, people think that their jobs are mundane. I know that I have had that thought about my work at times. I have been working in my career for 25 years. Sometimes, I cannot believe that I am old enough for that to be the case. The airplane that crashed in China last week is an aircraft model that I worked on. Even though I personally didn’t work on any system on aircraft that would have caused the crash, it triggered a perspective change. My wife and I were talking about the accident and she asked me if I think about how the stuff I have worked on has impacted other people’s lives. Getting people to where they are going to see a baby relative for the first, or in time to say last goodbyes. A couple starting a new life after the stresses of getting married. Newly graduated high school students on their way to the next page of their stories. I am not working in aerospace anymore. I have moved on to a new industry now where how people are effected is more directly realized. I have come to realize that it is important to look for areas where one makes a difference as opposed to wishing that they were apart of making changes elsewhere.